Liebster Award

Gary Lum from yummylummy.com has very kindly nominationed us for a Liebster Award. I had to go research what that was. A Liebster Award is an award nominated to and from bloggers, to share things about ourselves and show support for fellow bloggers. If you’re unfamiliar with Yummy Lummy, it’s a recipe and restaurant review blogged based in Australia that features excellent photography.

Gary’s ten questions and my (on behave of the Ladies’) ten answers:

What’s the best meal you’ve ever cooked? My lasagna, made in North American fashion with cottage cheese and none of that nasty Bechamel sauce. It takes me hours to make but is always a hit.

What’s your favourite meal? Fajitas

What food makes you remember your childhood? Blueberries, and the endless hours spent picking wild ones. When in the region of northern Georgian Bay, we would drive along until a good potential spot was sighted – a high rocky bit with a clearing. Then, armed with the biggest bowls we had, we would find our way up the hill to inevitably to a clearing full of blueberry bushes. Every time I eat the cultivated store bought variety I think of how blueberries are supposed to taste.

What is your dream meal? A tasting menu featuring scallops, beetroot, balsamic vinegar, calamari, wild mushrooms, butternut squash, red peppers and venison.

What recipe are you planning that you’re excited about? Getting in my car and driving to a new restaurant.

Share something unique/weird about you in the context of food. I’ve eaten a termite, on safari in South Africa. It was straight from the nest and tasted of grass.

Name one food person who you admire and why? Mary Berry, I wish she were my grandma.

What is your favourite kitchen appliance and why? Microwave, because I always forget to take the meat out of the freezer to thaw ahead of time.

Name one technique or strategy that is working well for your blog right now. Twitter

Name one food related app or tool that you can’t live without. (For example, Instagram, Adobe Photoshop Express) A fork.

My nominees are:

fabfood4all.co.uk

inher30s.com

londonunveiled.com

theswfoodblog.wordpress.com

thechicmommy.com

deltiologydeity.wordpress.com

torontopubs.wordpress.com

shirleeandjaneeatsurrey.com

surreyedit.com

upanddowninsurreyandlondon.com

My nominees: Should you choose to accept, this is what you have to do next:

– link back and recognise the blogger who nominated you
– answer the 10 questions given by the nominator
– nominate 10 other bloggers for the award
– create 10 questions for nominees to answer
– notify your nominees

My ten questions are:

With a two course meal, would you rather have a starter or a dessert?
What’s the craziest restaurant experience you’ve had?
Do you recognise the superiority of pumpkin pie as a dessert?
If you could only eat one type of animal for the rest of your life, which would it be?
My friends were recently guests of honour at a dinner in Bangkok where they given shark fin soup, how would you have reacted?
Name a food you hated as a child but love now.
What is your favourite type of (world) cuisine?
Of all the places you’ve travelled, where would you least like to return?
How much time do you spend writing a blog post?
Name one technique or strategy that is working well for your blog right now.

Thank you all for participating!

4 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Fantastic Post. I love your answers to my questions 🙂

    • Thanks! And thanks again for the nomination, it’s quite a fun exercise.

      • How did your friends react to the shark fin soup incident? How would you?

        It’s a tough one. I would need to know the occasion for the dinner. I believe shark fin is only served for very special occasions.

        I may find practices abhorrent, but I don’t think another person’s special event is the time to make a scene about one’s political or moral stances. But I would refuse to eat it and be clear and concise to anyone who asked why I won’t eat it.

        BTW, the Liebster “Award” is actually chain mail with a better p.r. spin.

  2. Thank you so much for the nomination and recognition. I really appreciate it. While I’ve chosen not to participate in Blog awards on my web site (I’m just trying to keep it very focused re: its posts/articles), I love your questions and would certainly like to answer a few of them:
    -creative starters will usually trump dessert… my alcohol is often my dessert by default!
    -pumpkin pie is certainly not a dessert IMHO… no more than putting mushy peas in a pie shell 🙂
    -Absolutely love Thai food these days – and really spicy food is something I didn’t tolerate or even get much exposure to as a child.
    – Craziest restaurants experience was being served scorpions on toast… really not that different from eating crickets or other insects… and I did eat it.
    – Wouldn’t eat Shark fin soup … wouldn’t initiate complaints, but would gladly educate those who wanted to listen.
    All the best, Ian

Agree? Disagree? Let us know!

