Five Guys Kingston Rotunda

A poetic warning, this is not the place to be if you have a peanut allergy.

A weekend family movie & bowling outing meant the chance to try out Five Guys in the Kingston-Upon-Thames Rotunda.

Five Guys exploded onto the US burger scene in the past decade. It started in Virginia and came to the UK in the summer of 2013.

I’d never been to a Five Guys before. I’d heard the hype but, as a Torontonian, was skeptical about an American burger bar.

Five Guys Kingston entrance

Five Guys boasts that nothing it uses has ever been frozen and there are no freezers on site. It uses the best quality, freshest ingredients and each meal is freshly made to order. All burgers are well done, but aside from that you can have it any way you like.

Place your order on the left, move across and wait while it’s made to order, then collect it on the right.

Five Guys Kingston interior counter

The menu is simple: Burgers, hot dogs and fries. A regular burger comes with two patties. A ‘little’ burger comes with one patty. You can also have a cheeseburger or a bacon burger For vegetarians there’s a burger without the meat (‘veggie sandwich’) or a cheese burger without the meat (‘grilled cheese.’) You choose what you’d like on it from a list of 16 toppings.

Unfortunately I was too busy taking photos when all this was explained, so when I placed my order I rattled off some standard burger toppings and missed out on the exciting options like onions and jalapenos.

You can watch them make your meal.

Five Guys Kingston kitchen

There are boxes of free peanuts in the shell to munch on while you wait for your order.

If you don’t want to wait for it to be made, you can order online before visiting, so that it’s waiting for you at your preferred collection time.

We waited about 15 minutes for our order.

Five Guys Kingston free peanuts

I actually quite liked the decor. A wall of windows opens it up, chunky light coloured wood is used for seating, which is a mixture of roomy booths, tables & chairs and tall tables & stools. Lighting is open with an industrial feel.

The walls are plastered with quotes of adoration (They’re clearly not ashamed of tooting their own horn.) Reading them while I was waiting for my order really upped the ante, and I wondered how they were ever going to live up to the bar they were setting for themselves.

While we waited, my children got their drinks from the space aged coke dispenser. It was the highlight of their visit, their little minds taking ages to decide which of the 100 flavours to choose. They settled on vanilla coke and cherry coke.

Five Guys Kingston interior seating

Our number was called out and we were handed a big brown paper bag.

Inside, our burgers were neatly wrapped and the cups of fries were all over the bottom.

My Husband, S, went for the regular burger £6.75. He was smart enough to look at the list of toppings and had his with, amongst other things, raw onions. Raw onions on a burger automatically make a burger good.

Five Guys Kingston regular burger

I had a little burger £4.75, which wasn’t all that little. Mmm, the pleasing taste of charred meat filled my mouth with joy.

The buns are spongey sesame see buns. It’s hard not to love a sesame seed bun. This one was no exception, dense with bready goodness it was a perfect density for holding everything inside.

Overall I was impressed, surprisingly. This was one of the best burgers I’ve had, well, since my last trip to Burger Shack in Toronto. If only I’d had raw onion!

Five Guys Kingston little burger

To accompany our burgers, we had small fries £2.75, both a ‘Five Guys style’ and a ‘cajun style.’

Now these are my kind of fries, skin on, not chunky or skinny and well done. They’re also fried in peanut oil, which may or may not make them taste better, I’m not sure.

Though we had two smalls between the four of us there were still lots leftover. Looking at the number in the bag, I’m not sure they all would have fit into the two cups they came in. It seemed like the fry guys just dumped loads straight into the bag.

We weren’t that keen on the cajun, as the flavouring overpowered the taste of the fry and it all got a bit much after a few of them. They were okay but the ‘Five Guys style’ were great.

Five Guys Kingston regular chips and cajun chips

Despite my skepticism, Five Guys surpassed my expectations. As far as fast food joints go, this is about the best I can think of in the area. The only drawback is the price, which isn’t outlandish but is on the upper line of what I want to pay for fast food.

Five Guys is sure to fulfil your a burger fix and, I have on good authority, is amazing when hungover.

Five Guys also has another Surrey location in Guildford.

The Rotunda, Clarence St, Kingston Upon Thames, Surrey KT1 1QJ
www.fiveguys.co.uk
Nearest carpark is the Bentall Centre.

2 thoughts on “Five Guys Kingston Rotunda

  1. I am also a fan! I loved the Cajun chips though, but probably because I don’t actually like normal chips (I know, controversial) so these worked well. They’re really expanding into the UK now huh!

  2. Hi, thanks for your comment! They do seem to be expanding really quickly, both here and in North America. Hope it’s not going to be one of those cases of too much too quickly that ultimately harms them (like Lick’s in Toronto, it was amazing then it expanded quickly and quickly became meh.)

Agree? Disagree? Let us know!

