Superfish West Byfleet

West Byfleet suffers a dearth of enticing restaurants. There’s the Indian, the Italian, the pub and the chippie. A chippie that happens to be a branch of the Surrey Legend that is Superfish.

Superfish West Byfleet exterior

There are queues out the door for the takeaway. Jane’s Upstairs generally requires a reservation. Finding ourselves in West Byfleet and curious to learn what the fuss is about, my family & I dined in on a Friday evening.

Superfish West Byfleet exteiror queue

Beautiful flowers grace the outside.

Inside is spotless. You don’t feel the grease permeating the air like in some places. This is how village restaurants used to be. Not a sign of pretension anywhere.

Staff are very cheerful, despite the never ending stream of people.

Superfish West Byfleet interior

A busy evening, the kitchen was running flat out, freshly battering each fish before it was deep-fried.

Superfish West Byfleet kitchen

Jane’s Upstairs is, you guessed it, upstairs. It’s the “silver service” version of Superfish. Access is via the downstairs eating area.

This was my intended target for the night, however while I was busy taking photos of the outside my husband, unaware, sat down at a free table in Superfish and a plate of complementary prawns immediately appeared on the table. Reluctantly, I sat down.

complementary prawns

After ordering I popped upstairs to see what Jane’s is like, though I didn’t have the sense to take a photo. Much quieter than downstairs, the tables are laid with linen and the waiters are very friendly.

The menu is similar to Superfish but there are some additions, particularly on the dessert front. It’s only 80p per fish more than dining downstairs but it’s a much more refined atmosphere and where you would want to be if coming for anything other than a quick bite.

By the time I got back downstairs our food had already arrived and was being eaten. Missing my patient Ladies, I swatted my family away and quickly took some pics, though you have to imagine more bread & chips. The bread is complementary, along with pickles and a variety of sauces.

basket of bread

Only daughter #2 was eating with us. She ordered a starter portion of calamari rings £4.25 (her favourite) plus new potatoes £1.50. I tried one of the rings, it was more batter than calamari but it was nice and crispy.

calamari and new potatoes

Husband and I both decided to go for the sea bass £10.50 from the specials board. It came three ways, fried, grilled or poached in a white wine sauce.

I elected to have it the poached. It was nice and tender. Poached doesn’t lend itself to a great deal of flavour but I paired mouthfuls with mushy peas and it was enjoyable.

Seabass poached in white wine sauce

Husband, perhaps surprisingly, went for the grilled. Grilled to perfection and very tasty.

grilled seabass

The chips (included in the price of the fish) were very yummy. They really suited my tastes (I am not a fan of mushy in the middle blah on the outside kind you commonly get in pubs and chippies.)

chips

We rounded out our meals with an order of ‘Yorkshire’s own mushy peas £1.30.’ Our waitress said one would be enough for both of us. She wasn’t lying, one would be enough for a large, hungry family. Good flavour though.

mushy peas

Superfish is a down home restaurant serving quality fish and chips. If that’s what you’re after then you’ll be hard pressed to find better.

Superfish is licensed and also has branches in Ashted, Cheam Village, Ewell, East Molesey, Morden and Tolworth.

51 Old Woking Road, West Byfleet, Surrey, KT14 6LG
superfishuk.co.uk
Street parking, Waitrose car park opposite but you’re only supposed to use it if you shop at Waitrose.

5 thoughts on “Superfish West Byfleet

  1. This is the only Fish & Chip shop I will buy from, we have been going there since they were first recommended by Egon Ronay so that’s a very long time:-) Eating upstairs reminds me of being on holiday and has a lovely charm to it. We have mostly eaten downstairs over the years and have taken away very regularly over the years! I forgot my purse once and the lovely boss let me bring the money the following day – bonus of being a regular I suppose:-)

  2. I must go here, I lived near the Molesey branch for 5 yrs and never visited, hadn’t in fact seen this branch in West Byfleet, but will have my eyes peeled next time I am there, that’s for sure!

Agree? Disagree? Let us know!

